The Case for Harness Walking (vs. collar walking)

Yesterday I was scrolling through Instagram when I happened upon a picture that Snoop Dogg posted from 2007. It showed him walking his pet pittie, with a retractable lead on a somewhat loose collar.

While I am stoked that:

  1. He wasn’t on a choke/prong collar
  2. His dog seemed quite relaxed body language-wise
  3. He didn’t make any comments about his pitbull being an image for “toughness”
  4. He was walking the dog in sandals and socks which was hilarious, and total dog-dad attire

It made me think about how many people still use collars as a primary means for walking their dog.

As you may be able to tell by the title of this piece, I have never been an advocate or fan of walking a dog simply on a collar.

When I first got Milo, I luckily had a great support network, and the shelter required a training class in order to finalize adoption (good on them!) They went in depth how collars are simply for identification, and not the greatest tools for walking a dog.

Now, after learning this, I experienced it full force while working at a dog training facility (I was not a trainer, I worked under the close supervision of one, spending days working on basic manners with groups of dogs, as well as crate training).

However, I’d have to walk dogs back up to the lobby to their parents.

Many dogs on collars end up choking themselves when pulling on the lead (a common problem). Now, when this happens, a reactive dog automatically begins to feel greater fear, and will likely react more.

Also, if you have ever grabbed for a dog’s collar while trying to pull them away from something they are reacting to, you may have experienced their natural reaction to being grabbed by the neck: turning and biting. I certainly have, and luckily I’ve dodged, and learned (the hard way) that grabbing a dog’s neck/neck area makes them feel extremely scared/unsafe/like they need to protect themselves.

Not to mention, even tight collars are easier for a dog to slip than harnesses or head halters.

I am 1000% a fan of front clip harnesses and head halters. A common misconception (one that I had), was that a front-clip harness or head halter will solve pulling.

Spoiler alert: it doesn’t.

What it does do is give you leverage! Having a small dog, I didn’t learn this until working with larger ones! But oooh-wee! It made a HUGE difference! I can walk pitties, danes, shepherds, reactive big dogs, with these tools, because they give me the leverage to not be dragged along! (For reference I am only five feet tall, and my pittie is only about 40 lbs lighter than me).

I think every animal that gets walked on a lead should be on some sort of harness. Even if it’s not front clip and your dog still pulls, you will be lessening reactivity by having them on a harness, as well as saving their poor little necks.

All my animals still wear collars, but I treat them more as a fashion statement for ID tags. No one gets walked on their collars.

In short, that’s why I believe harnesses and head halters are better for your dog’s well-being, as well as your sanity!

Image from: http://www.friendsforlifedogtraining.com/blog/dog-training/09/loose-leash-walking-5/

Leave a comment